This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far APACRS has created 27 blog entries.


Dr. Nawat Watanachai trained in ophthalmology in Chiang Mai University before being appointed as Clinical Retinal Fellow at Ramathibodi Hospital, Mahidol University and Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital, University of Western Australia. He is a consultant retinal surgeon at Chiang Mai University Hospital.     Summary of Presentations Thursday, [...]


Summary of Presentations Thursday, 19 July 2018 15:30 – 17:00hrs Sukhothai Room 3 MasterClass (MC10): Intrastromal Refractive Surgery My Experience in the re-SMILE Enhancement Procedure Friday, 20 July 2018 07:15 – 08:15hrs Sukhothai Room 2 Meet-The-Experts Table 2: Refractive Surgery 12:45 – 13:45hrs Sukhothai Room 2 Industry Symposium [...]

Chul Young CHOI

Dr. Chul Young CHOI is associate professor of ophthalmology, Sung Kyun Kwan University, and director of cataract and refractive service at Kangbuk Samsung Medical Center, Seoul. Dr. Choi’s clinical research involves treatment of various conjunctival diseases, including conjunctivochalasis. He has received numerous awards for his research. He currently serves as council member of the [...]

Shamira PERERA

A/ Prof Shamira Perera is Co-Head for Bioengineering and Devices at SERI and a Glaucoma Surgeon at SNEC. He was chosen to drive MedTech through being the deputy director for the Med Tech Office for SingHealth and Director of Clinical and Surgical Innovation at SNEC. He has published over 100 papers, 4 book chapters, [...]

Mohamad ROSMAN

Dr Rosman is a senior consultant ophthalmologist in the Refractive Surgery Department and Cataract and Comprehensive Department, Singapore National Eye Centre. He is also an Assistant Professor from the Graduate School of Medicine, Duke-NUS. He is also the Head of the Refractive Surgery Department which subspecialises in the correction of myopia, astigmatism, hyperopia and [...]


Matteo Piovella, MD, is an internationally acclaimed cataract and refractive surgery expert with a private practice in Monza (Milan), Italy. In 2010 and 2014, Dr. Piovella was elected President of the Italian Ophthalmological Society (SOI), which represents 7,000 Italian eye doctors. Dr. Piovella has shared his experience with eye doctors around the world, having [...]

Harvey UY

Dr. Harvey Uy is a Clinical Associate Professor of Ophthalmology, University of the Philippines and Medical Director, Peregrine Eye and Laser Institute, Makati, Philippines. He completed his ophthalmology residency at the Philippine General Hospital, Retina fellowship at St. Luke’s Medical Center and Ocular Immunology and Uveitis at the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary. Dr. [...]


Dr Akahoshi is the inventor of Phaco Prechop technique and initiator of Micro Coaxial Phaco surgery which has realized the implantation of 6.0mm acrylic IOL through a 1.8mm incision. He has developed series of cataract instruments including, blades, prechoppers, unique off-centered square wobble phaco tips and electronic toric markers etc. He is the largest volume [...]

Sujatha MOHAN

Dr. Sujatha Mohan, Executive Medical Director, Rajan Eye Care Hospital, graduated from Thanjavur Medical College and did her basic training at Sankara Nethralaya under the renowned leadership of Dr. S.S. Badrinath. She is an anterior segment surgeon with extensive experience in phacoemulsification, glued IOLs, corneal transplant surgery including lamellar corneal transplantation, LASIK, phakic IOLs, [...]

Kavita RAO

  Summary of Presentations Friday, 20 July 2018 14:00 – 15:30hrs Sukhothai Room 2 Symposium (S10): The Perfect Surface – The Cornea in Cataract & Refractive Surgery Current Updates in Dry Eye Diagnostics and Management (8 minutes presentation with 2 minutes discussion)